Sets and Resets

thejoker954

Hi all, I was wondering if Sets and Resets are a good thing or bad, because someone told my boss that having multiple sets and resets in a plc program is not a good thing. But I am of the opinion that they are an important part of the program and necessary to do what we need to. I'm a beginning plc programmer and I don't want to attempt rewriting our programs from scratch unless it's actually necessary.

the CORRECT answer depends on what type of processor you're using ...

next, are you familiar with the terms "retentive" and "non-retentive" and EXACTLY what they mean? ...

quick question just to get us on track:

suppose that something is ON - and the processor shuts down due to a power failure, etc. ... do you want that "something" to automatically come right back ON again when the power is restored - or do you want it to stay OFF until the operator pushes the start button again? ...

once you've thought that through, then you're ready to decide whether "retentive" is a good idea or not ...

big picture idea: using "sets" and "resets" - or "latches" and "unlatches" - is MUCH more than just a design feature - or a personal programming preference ... they have specific functions ... SOMEtimes you NEED them ... SOMEtimes using them is a VERY BAD idea ... tell us more about your hardware and about your system, and we'll try to help you nail this down ...

Last edited:
Sets and resets are like any instruction, they have their uses. However, that being said, they tend to make troubleshooting a horrible mess with multiple sets/resets of the same bit.

Personally I try to limit their use to status monitoring and leave the controlling to regular coils. If I need latching, I do it with logic in the run, rather than a set/reset.