Trying to collect data from OPC will only update in 1 cell ,not entire column

Rob S.

I know this is not a excel forum but would you have any ideas.For your information it is Cognex Insight OPC Server
I am collecting data from a OPC server. I was able to drag and drop a tag from opc to excel spreadsheet and the cell updates
just fine,example:A2 48.6 , A2 46.3 , A2 47.7. But what I
would like to do is have it update like a datalogger example: A2 47.7 ,A3 46.3 , A4 48.6 , A5 47.8 , A6 45.9,etc. so I can look at previous data.Is there a way I can increase the
"data cell range" within the excel setup, or maybe a formula ,or maybe I need to purchase a add-in for excel to do this?

Thank You so much for your help ,have a great weekend.

You will probably want to write a macro for Excel that will capture the "live" data from your OPC data cell and copy the value into an incrementing cell number at periodic intervals.

I am not very good with VBA so I would have to pass on giving advice how to go about writing the code.

Paul

I have only used RSLinx PRo for data collecting , and there when set up your data source you have to tell it how many data records to follow. I believe Excel will only let you go uas high 100. Either way there must be a setup point you are overlooking, try using the HELP file, most (OK some) software help directories can actually be useful. Good luck

What is the purpose for the data?

DO you want to display a realtime graph of inspection data or actually log the data to a file?

Do you have a PLC and HMI on the machine?

Last edited:
But what I would like to do is have it update like a datalogger example: A2 47.7 ,A3 46.3 , A4 48.6 , A5 47.8 , A6 45.9,etc. so I can look at previous data.Is there a way I can increase the
"data cell range" within the excel setup, or maybe a formula ,or maybe I need to purchase a add-in for excel to do this?