Sturdy rotary position sensor

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Can anyone recommend a reliable rotary position sensor for a slow-moving load that rotates about 70 degrees in a minute.

The current system has a 8:1 pulley and a multiturn potentiometer and 4-20 mA interface, but it's worn out after a little more than a year, cycling about 30 times daily. I need an absolute output, preferably 4-20 mA analog.

I have looked at the Celesco RT8000 series, the Gemco 1786A and the AMCI DC425 Duracoder.

I hope somebody on the Forum can say "I use model X from brand Y and it has worked for years with no trouble".

Last edited:
Ken

Chimed in to keep track of this. I want the same answer.
Try this outfit
http://www.beiied.com/main-product.html
I have no experience with them. Two others (Okie PC and ??) recommended them.

What failed on the existing - the pot??

Crazy idea - use a ring gear from a engine flywheel count the teeth with a prox. Ideally you would use a gear with 360 teeth.
BUT what is your positioning tolerance ie moves 70 +"x" -"xx"
Also space and mounting may be problems. Smaller gear - drive at X multiple of what you drive the "table" at to get better accuracy??

Dan Bentler

Last edited:
The BEI H25 with analog output might be a good fit for this application.

The existing pot just seems to have worn out; when it gets to about 65 degrees the input value (verified by a meter) just starts jumping around between 50 to 70 degrees. I figure that's a worn spot in the pot slider.

If it were my design, I would have put an absolute encoder with DeviceNet or Grey code and been certain of the mechanism's position. There were a lot of things done with this system I would not have chosen... anyone ever seen three SLCs used to make a ControlNet standby system ? With cable TV slider switches to change the CNet trunk routing ? Thought so.

hi Ken,

you mention absolute position. does it need to read over multiple turns or limited angle is ok?