Output switching back and forth

ndecks

Hello,
I need some help. I am a new plc programmer. I am trying to program a diverter valve to switch back and forth during a run. I want the output to switch to one side for 15 min and switch to another side for 45 min. How do I do do that? Do I use latch, unlatched?
Thanks in advance for the help.

The details will differ depending on your brand and model of PLC as well as the valve that controls the flow of fluid to the diverter. In general, you'll need at least one timer, possibly two.

To do it with one timer, set the timer's preset to 60 minutes and have it reset itself at the end of the 60 minute period. When the timer's accumulated value is less than or equal to 15 minutes, command the diverter in one direction. When the accumulated value is greater than 15 minutes command the diverter in the other direction.

If you can stay away from latches. They generally will cause more problems than they solve.

To expand on what Steve mentioned about the valve information, there are many different types of valves, actuators, and setups. Most valve actuators I have to deal with are pneumatic. With a pneumatic valve you can control it with one or two outputs depending on the actuator configuration. Some actuators have a spring that returns the valve to an open or closed position at rest (ie, no signal from you). With such a valve you would have one output that would be energized to activate a solenoid that will allow air to go to the actuator. The valve will then move. You have to maintain the output from the PLC to keep the valve in this new position. Release it and it returns to the previous state.