Modifying Preset Value of High Speed Counter

wakeet

Hello All,

i'm a total newb to PLC programming so any help is appreciated.

I have an encoder mounted to a motor shaft. the encoder is used to measure the distance traveled of an arm that is being pulled by the motor.

the arm has to move 24", then 2", then 4", then 2", then 4", then repeat...

the original programmer wrote the program using software counters of the Delta SS PLC. it became apparent that the software counters weren't accurate enough for our application. i rewrote the 24" sequence of the program to utilize the built in high speed counter of the PLC. this solved the problem.

So here's my question...

I need to rewrite the program to utilize the high speed counter for each sequence. any suggestions on how i can accomplish this?

i assumed i could write some sort of logic that would change the preset value of the HSC after each successful sequence but i'm not quite sure how to do that.

i'm open to ideas! Thank you!

wakeet,

I do not know how much help I will be. But I have some questions.
on your high speed counter. Are you using an A B two phase counter? Or other? Are you using the Z pulse? In the other thread you mentioned that the original programmer was "out of town" or something like that. You were able to configure the counter to a high speed one from a conventional counter. What did the original programmer have in place to change the presets?

this looks very much like Mitsubishi FX series PLC.

you should be able to use data register for preset, for example instead of:

out C235 k50

use register pair like D10/D11

out C235 D10

then you can simply put value into D10/D11 (or whatever).

Are you using an A B two phase counter? Or other? Are you using the Z pulse?

I'm actually using the 1 phase, 1 input counter. Encoder is on input X0 using C235.