Sub routines

Hello:

I am new to PLC's as far as writing the programs and have never written a sub routine. I know in a regular ladder you are limited to writing an output once. I understand this does not apply to sub routines. My project is a four floor elevator with all real world conditions, including a load cell, encoder and more. I have my basic main program and will need 6 sub routines. Little lost on the sub routines. Any hints?

Charles
đź“š

Thank You For your Prompt response. I will try and break down each operation to individual routines, ex. open close door, arrive at floor, floor requests, encoder and drive functions. I have a lot of real world logic, just new to writing programs.

Greetings Charles ...

and welcome to the forum ...

you’re asking a “basic” question – so I’ll give you a “basic” answer ... (in other words, there’s a little more to it than this – but this should help get you started) ...

I have my basic main program and will need 6 sub routines.

that’s probably not correct ... specifically, you do not NEED/REQUIRE subroutines to make your program work ...

analogy: you could write a very lengthy book (a novel for example) all in ONE uninterrupted “chapter” ... that would work perfectly ... but ... novels are usually broken into “chapters” – which makes it more convenient to “organize” the material – and keep up with where you are in the story ...

now then ...

analogy: you could write a very lengthy program (for an elevator as an example) all in ONE uninterrupted “main routine” ... that would work perfectly ... but ... programs are usually broken into “subroutines” – which makes it more convenient to “organize” the material – and to understand and interpret the program ...

and so ...

at their most basic level, you should think of a “subroutine” as something like a “chapter” in a book ... thinking along those lines, it might be very helpful to organize your program into something like this (just for discussion) ...