Fed Up With Allen Bradley and Rockwell

rwy34ils

Is it just me or is anyone else completely fed up with all this nonsense???

I paid good money recently for RSLogix500, RSLogix5000 and FactoryTalk ME for a project I needed to do. I am not new to this game either. I have been programming various PLCs since 1979.

I have now spent more time installing, activating, reinstalling, debugging and troubleshooting the Rockwell software than I have spend on the actual programming. As a systems integrator, my time is worth money. I get paid on a per-project basis so the more time I waste on this, the less money I make.

I was able to get 500 and 5000 going after spending hours and hours. Now I installed FactoryTalk ME and it won't run. Everytime I start it, it says "Microsoft has encountered a problem and needs to close this application". I re-installed it but the same problem. NOW, the 5000 won't run either. The splash screen comes up and that's as far as it goes. I have re-installed that as well, but no change.

I can't believe that more people don't speak up about this poor product quality. Would you put up with a car that was riddled with bugs and just shut down from time to time? Would you fly in an airplane that worked this poorly?

If that isn't bad enough, they want to charge me MONEY just so they will answer the phone to help fix the problems that they created. I don't get it.

Anyway, that is my rant for today. I have to cancel my site visit today for this project and I will spend the entire day trying to fix this.

I agree with you 100 % high cost. poor product. If they were half as concerned with the product operating, as they are with making sure you can't use it on more than one computer, they'd have an excellent product.

I don't think what you have said is a rant at all, as that implies there is something wrong with you, and it is their company and product that is screwed up