How does a force work

jimmycooker

Hi,

I am new to PLC's.

I am able to download a simple program / ladder to the plc i.e.

1 row, examine if closed input & output energise

When I run the program and force the input on shouldn't the out put energise i.e. the LED on the output (and input card for that matter) light up?

Ami inputting the addresses wrong, when i type I it brings up a list of inputs which i choose one from and teh same with the output.

Do i need to wire up the input / output cards before i can even simulate energising the or forcing the on?

Thanks,
James.

1. Some of the Allen Bradley PLCs, besides forcing a single item, may require you to 'Enable Forces'.

2. Forcing an input ON generally WILL NOT cause the cooresponding input light on the input module to light.

Bernie you are going to make this learning process a hell of a lot easier, thanks a million...again!

Planning on taking a module begginners module on misubishi plc's in september and another on siemens starting after that...with your help i mighn't need them!

Thanks again...

Greetings James ...

as you go a little further into this subject, you'll find that all brands of PLCs do NOT handle forces in exactly the same way ...

some brands force the input and output "bits" (in other word the "boxes") ...

other brands (including Allen-Bradley) force the input and the output SIGNALS (specifically NOT the bit/boxes) ...

these apparently minor differences can make for major headaches when you're using forces while troubleshooting a system - particularly if you frequently move from one brand to another ...

you can learn quite a lot about this subject (at least for the AB brand) by working through the free E-mail quizzes on my website ... #115 and #215 should be the most helpful ... just scroll down past the videos on the Sample Lessons page to find the "quiz" link ...

hope this helps ...