Needing to get total scfm flow for the day

snowman4evr

Hi all, I am new to using a plc, other than taking 1 class in college on it. But I am needing to get a total scfm flow for the day from our ABPLC. We are using a micrologix 1769L32E processor. I have a 4-20 ma signal coming in showing a SCFM readout using ME. Any help would be greatly appricatied.

Thanks

Is this for class or is it for real?

If for class you would want to use a pretty short time interval over which to take an average reading.

IF for real then what do you estimate the daily (8,16,24 hour) total CF to be? What is your tolerance? How much variation is there? THese are needed to determine how often you take an average reading. Readings every second will be more accutate than those over sevaral minutes more accurate than average hourly readings.

You may wish to consider using a data logger which may be more appropriate if high precision and or high cost are considerations.

Dan Bentler

Is this for class or is it for real?

If for class you would want to use a pretty short time interval over which to take an average reading.

IF for real then what do you estimate the daily (8,16,24 hour) total CF to be? What is your tolerance? How much variation is there? THese are needed to determine how often you take an average reading. Readings every second will be more accutate than those over sevaral minutes more accurate than average hourly readings.

You may wish to consider using a data logger which may be more appropriate if high precision and or high cost are considerations.

Dan Bentler

Not for class

Thanks for the response Dan. No, this is not for class this is for our new plc system in our plant. I am wanting a 24 hour average. But it will have to be from the plc system as money is tight, so I got to use what we got.

thanks

But I am needing to get a total scfm flow for the day from our ABPLC.
I am wanting a 24 hour average.