Alternating Output

PackagingRich

Hi All, I am a rookie at ladder programming a Micrologix 1200, and would like to know how to alternate an output from energizing every time from a N.O. contact to every other time. I have tried useing a counter, but have not had much success. Any ideas?

Not sure exactly what your asking, but it sounat we call a "toggle". Use the search function and you will find tons of posts.

Or give an explaination of what your trying to achieve in the real world and we can go from there.

-I am useing a signal from a timing cam that is 1:1, and would like to energize an output everyother time (2:1). Have tried useing CTU with a CU enable, then reset my counter with a DN. Sorry if i am not explaining this very good.

Had some free time..... Here is how I got it to work on a MicroLogix1000.

The TOF timer is so you can set how long you want the output to stay energized.

The CTU counter is just so you have something to watch and see if it is working correctly.

toggle.jpg

The easiest way to do it with a counter is to use the least significant bit of the timer accumulator. In binary it changes each time the counter value increments.

0 = 000
1 = 001
2 = 010
3 = 011
4 = 100
5 = 101

Notice how the least significant bit in bold changes each time. So if you are using C5:0 as your counter then C5:0.ACC/0 if your flip flop bit. Ignore the preset and the /DN bits.

Just remember however that the counter value is retentive.

Last edited:
Rich,

You started off just dandy with a correct description...
...would like to know how to alternate an output from energizing every time from a N.O. contact to every other time.
Then let these guys talk you into degenerating into slang terms, like "toggle" and "flip-flop".

Toggle is the name of a switch.
Flip-flop is a name long taken by a type of transistor gate, the "J-K Flip-Flop".

In most cases people use the first term they think of to describe a function, even though it is not the best name.