New to PLC's and am trying to build a packing machine

wynsel

Hi, I'm new to PLC's and need some input on them. I'm building a packing machine that runs a vibratory feed that feeds a scaled hopper. the scale controllers out their will work with gust one line. but I would like to run three lines simultaneously and the scale controllers can not do this. they say i need a PLC to accomplish this. but how does the PLC read a load cell to stop the vibratory feeder when it hits it's target weight??? is this a counter up bit?????????

Hi, I'm new to PLC's and need some input on them. I'm building a packing machine that runs a vibratory feed that feeds a scaled hopper. the scale controllers out their will work with gust one line. but I would like to run three lines simultaneously and the scale controllers can not do this. they say i need a PLC to accomplish this. but how does the PLC read a load cell to stop the vibratory feeder when it hits it's target weight??? is this a counter up bit?????????
There are companies that make cards that go in a PLC slot that do this. We have them where I work. If I can get over this brain ****, I will tell you the name of them. Maybe you could google something and come up with it.

What is the output of your load cell? If analog most PLC's will accept analog inputs. Once this analog value is in the PLC it can then be compared to the target value with compare instructions. The results of this compare can then be used to turn-on or turn-off an output, whatever the case may be for your process.

Wynsel,

Mickey's approach is right on. I've done exactly that. I'm not sure about the special purpose cards mentioned for this situation, but if your sensors work on "analog", you can just do it that way.

Have you selected a PLC yet? What PART of Florida are you in?

Stationmaster

I do believe that it is analog. but the rep from flex weight did say I may need a card to place go in between the plc and load cell.I'll have to look more in to this..