Same Output On Different Rungs?

shoelesscraig

OK, I thought I was gettin' pretty good at this. But, today I had to hook up to a PLC on one of our machines and found something that I thought you could not do...the same outputs located in 2 different spots. The only condition to make the rungs true were integer file bits (a different bit on the 2 different rungs). But, the outputs were exactly the same. As a matter of fact, there were a total of 7 outputs like this. They were outputs for a TTL output card on an Allen-Bradley 5/03 processor. Also, each pair were located inside of Jump/Label instructions. The machine has been operating fine like this for nearly 6 years, so I know it doesn't cause any problems. Someone help me out here and explain this. I must be missing something that I should already know.

Yes AB unlike Modicon will let you use an output more than once.
I think the idea is to use it in different sub-routines.
I'm not an expert on AB perhaps someone can explain what happens when you use the same output twice in the same routine i.e. does it act on the last state it sees?

Roy

Last edited:
All A-B PLCs scan the user code from top to bottom, as do the majority of other PLCs.

An output instruction eg. OTE --( )-- is just an instruction to the processor to write the current logic state of the rung to the memory address specified, and it will do that as and when it encounters each instruction.

If an output bit is used multiple times, then it could be written on, off, off, on, etc. several times during one processor scan.

A-B PLC5's have "Synchronous I/O". That means the Output Image data-table is written out to the output modules between logic scans, and in this case, the "last one wins" rule will apply.