Practice with timers - major discrepancies

bknight

Hello all,
I'm a recent beginner in the PLC world. I'm working on a set of exercises handed down to me from a friend to help get comfortable with programming AB PLCs.

Background to my setup for testing is that I've got the RSLogix Emulate 5000 running with RSLinx Classic, RSLogix 5000, and FactoryTalk View Studio. I've emulated a full setup of PLC & HMI.

I've created a program that is testing the timer against the system clock. I have a pushbutton on the HMI that starts the timer and grabs the initial system time. When the timer is done, I get a final system time. Now I'm trying to time 25 seconds and using a 0.25 second timer and a counter to increment up to 100 timer ticks.

When I examine my actual system time at start and stop I'm consistently 3 seconds or so off. If I change the 0.25 second timer I get varying error, but always fairly significantly off...

I'm wondering if I'm simply doing something wrong or my emulation setup is hampering accuracy?

Please take a look at the attached PDF printout of the routine.

Thanks,
Bill

I don't see any major errors in your PLC logic. There are some things you could simplify though.

I would expect that the error lies with the emulator. I have not used Emulate 5000, but I use Emulate 500 quite a bit and one of my first complaints was the fact the the scan time of the emulated PLC was kinda goofy, and that debug files scan times were weird as well.

Paul

I've never played with the emulator before so I don't know what level of performance it is capable of. But with what you are doing you are losing somewhere between 0 and a full scan worth of time every time the timer reaches it's preset. It may be even more than that depending on how the timer reacts to a reset.