gaz_28

Hi,
I have a problem with syswin 3.4 when uploading program to my plc i get "um protected" i have asked the question before about getting around it but got no reply but does anyone know what "um protected" means ? that might help me with trying to solve this issue
thanks

I have never done this before, but I found some information for you on line; so this should get you close. Go Online with the PLC. Hunt around in the left dialog box of your CXProgrammer v3.1 software (the project tree). Somewhere in there you can click on a protection icon and it will actually reveal the password instead of ***** characters. Then you can click on the little icon on the Set password/release password toolbar (the one with a little PLC and an unlocked padlock) and type in the password. Let me know if this helps you?

Sincerely:

Maintenance Man

thanks for that info but i have a slight problem i am using syswin 3.4 not cx programmer 3.1 reason i am using syswin is because the plc is an old c**h one and the new software wont work on it also work wont change it due to it working ok. I only need to change the timers on the program but i cant find anything that will let my download the updated program to the plc. This syswin software doesnt let you have much freedom in setting up the plc.is there a way of deleting and clearing the memory on the plc ????

To clear the memory

To clear the memory in the Allen Bradley SLC 500s we use; you pull the batter out then discharge the capacitor. This will completely erase the program. You have to make sure the processor does not have an EPROM that stores the program. I am sure the style processor you have, will let you erase the program in the same fashion. If this does not work, you could also install another processor. Let me know if this works.

Sincerely:
Maintenance Man