VFD problems

Topcat

Ok hi to all , I am new to this site. I must say after reading some , I am so impressed to find so much knowledge in one place.
My background is design , build and program DC servo robots , small part assembly machines , and packaging machines. A max payload on my robots is 20 lbs. , less on my other equipment. I know , tinker toys to some of you guys.. So a friend of mine buys a robot at auction and gets it set up , then calls me to get it running for him. When I get there this robot has a 250lb. payload capacity. 3/4 or 1 HP drive AC motors , on the transverse and vertical axis. This is probably not uncommon to you guys but to someone with 15 years in small machines this is BIG.
Ok , after some careful inspection most everything seems to be together correctly . My problem is a VFD that runs the motors , it is Saftronics G3 , model cimr-g3 u43p7, input voltage 460V. In order for the software to do anything , the PLC needs to get a "ready" input from the drive ,which is not there, so the whole robot is dead. The display screen is lit on the drive , and inside with the cover removed , is a green light lit near the bottom of the drive. On the display screen the stop button is also lit . Next to this button is a run button which when pushed does nothing. I tried putting numbers in the "F" display in the window , my guess this is frequency and pushed run button on drive nothing . Ok thats the extent of my experience , with AC drives.
My questions are these
(1) Can someone point me to a manual for this drive , ill buy it if necessary. I need to know what the functions are and how to set them.I can find Drives to buy and repair places but no manuals.
(2) Does the drive require an input from the PLC before it will turn on .. (go into the run mode, or give me a ready output)
(3) Is there some basic settings I need to set in the display to make the drive run