Modbus Comms with AB L32E

stesie4469

Ok Here goes, I have an Allen Bradley Micro LOgix L32E that I am trying to get communicating via Modbus over channel 0

I am a little confused as I have never tried this before I am using the Sample program Modbusmaster.acd that is provided with the software I have also downloaded the documentation that comes with the sample program. My question is this when configuring the parameters for channel 0, what does the system protocol ned to be set to. I feel like I have a handle on the logic portion and the Baldor Drives I am trying to communicate with seem to be configured properly according to the manufacturer. I am banging my head against the wall trying to get this working any advice will be welcomed

Thank youo_O

Do you mean a Compactlogix L32E? I think you need the SM2 card to talk Modbus.

I haven't heard of a way to do it through the CH0 port...

I ran into another fella who was trying to do the same thing. He had the example code as well and we never could get it to work. We ended up using a data converter to go from Modbus 485 to the AB via the DF1 or Ethernet port.

Joe_WaZoo

With the sample code you can use the comport. It's easier with the SM2 card though, that's what I use.
Prosoft also makes a card for this.

I have seen the sample code. Not sure if it works that well. When you have a look at the code it seems in my opinion to be poorly written. (seemed to have blocked out bits of code that were not used, poorly documented etc) One day I have always wanted to re-write it, make it into an AOI then post it back on the sample website. Never had the time and probably if I did the next week there would be a release of compact logix where the comm port supported modbus natively.
Regards Alan Case

Disclosure: I don't like this implementation of Modbus on the Logix controller and very much prefer Prosoft cards.