PLC + flow meters

djshorty

My background is in conventional programming so this is all new to me, please bare with me.

I've been given the task of retrieving values from an flow meter and displaying it on the web. Can a flow meter be wired to a PLC for this purpose? From the tutorial it seems that a PLC can program on/off states but I was not clear on if it could retrieve values to a PC somehow. Am I way off base?

Your help is appreciated, thanks in advance.

KL

The PLC proposed is a GE Fanuc VersaMax PLC. From the specs it looks like it supports analog inputs. Specs

So once I know the PLC supports analog inputs a flow meter can be wired up?

Well it depends...
First you need to check what interface your flowmeter has.
typical outputs are analog 4-20mA but i've seen them
with others too (communication ports or pulse train etc.)

Thx for the prompt reply. I'll try to find more info and will post back.

If the interface to the flow meter was through a display unit that was RS232 compatible would that make things easier?