RS LINX question

shoelesscraig

We just received a new piece equipment at work today that contains a MicroLogix 1400. I tried connecting our PC to it to take a look at the program and could not get Linx to connect to the unit. I have no problem getting Linx to connect to any of our other equipment. I could get it to realize that something was there, but it would call it an "unrecognized device". Doesn't matter if I tried ethernet or the RS232 port.

We are using Linx revision number:
2.51.00.21 (CPR 7). I'm wondering if this version will not talk to the Micrologix 1400? Anybody got any ideas?

Let me also add, the machine I'm referring to is not connected to any network in any way. I came right out of our laptop with an ethernet cable directly into the Micrologix. I see in the manual it talks about a hub or switch and I have no such item. I have lots of experience with other communication types, but not with ethernet. Almost everything in our building is DH-485. Maybe I'm hooking it up wrong?

Last edited:
Upgrade to the latest RSLinx. It is free. (big download though)
Linx can see it but when that version of RSLinx was made, a 1400 did not exist, therefore it does not know what it is.
Regards Alan Case

It might be you just need the EDS file installed for the 1400.

Try right-clicking the device in RSLinx, and see if it gives you the option to "Upload EDS File from Device". If so do it and install the file.

If not, visit the RA site and download the file to your PC, then install it from your download destination.

If you do install the EDS, and it still says "Unrecognised.." then restarting the PC often helps.

RSLinx Classic version 2.51 does not support either of the modern Ethernet-equipped MicroLogix controllers (the MicroLogix 1100 and the MicroLogix 1400).