Help Needed Bad

NotSMART

Hello All

I need help, I am very new to the PLC world, we are experiencing some difficulty on a project. When ever take power away from a PLC box we sparious activation of valves causing unexpected actions.

Question:
Do PLC have a default setting, that when power is loss for a period of, power being unstable, that cause the PLC to drive a valve open?

This problem has occur when we power back up after an extended down period.

We dont perform a power sequence, we just cut the power. When we bring power back on line this when the problem occurs.

mainly Plc do not have a defalult settings but some istructions that you use in the program can come back in the same state they wore whan the power was shut down, upon power up.So for instance if your instruction was true, and the valve was open while the power was shut down, than upon power up this istruction can be still true causing your valve to open.

So say i do some maintance and open a valve, thats is normally closed, when power is applied the plc would continue to open the valve

or does it work the opposite way if the was closed and the instruction is true. Power is lost then restored, the valve will open?

that would be some what correct, check the instruction that tells the valve to open or close. but you have to be more specific to what type of plc you are using and the instructions that are controling the valve open close cycle. always be specific to the bone whan you are asking for help that gives everyone a better understending of what the cause of the problem could be.