Newbie in a jam

peterc49

I'm an industrial electrician with Basic program in my past but little current plc programming experience. I ended up in charge of a project to program an Allen Bradley 1400a using RSlogix 500. I'm doing fairly well but have come up against a block. I'm working with a variable speed conveyor which carries items at unevenly spaced intervals and deposits them alternatingly in one of three gates. I have a product detect sensor and a belt pulse generator but I can't think of a way to store the "delivery time" of an individual item as it travels down the belt. I have a subroutine that works if there are no gaps in the product but I'm stuck if there are gaps. If you all can help, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Do you need to sort the items or do you need them to just be alternated?

Can you provide a sketch of the system?
-If you can draw it or get an existing drawing in jpeg format, you can add that drawing to a post here so we can better understand your system. Use the Attach Files button at the bottom of the reply window.

-Also, if you can zip the .rss file and add that to your post it would be very helpful as well.

Paul

Thanks Okie.
I calcuated the number of belt pulses it takes to get to a gate. Gate 1 is 6, Gate 2 is 23. Then based on the product count in the line, assign it a gate number and a pulse delay. I was storing the delay in an integer (N9:1 - N9:8) but I don't know how to count up from N9:1 to N9:2 when I go from Item 1 to item 2. (You may have noticed by now that I'm a bit confused) Thanks in advance for any help

Conveyor.jpg

Thanks Okie.