Multi Instance FB's

JOLTRON

Lifetime Supporting Member
I just started playing around with Multi instance FB's.

And I don't find the help file very helpful.

Quick question.

I have 3 conveyors, used multiple instance FB's.

Now when I right click and goto monitor is that cycling thru all 3 conveyors?

And if I goto monotiro with called path is that just displaying the 1 specific instance I am worried about?

Thanks,

Hi
Has each FB got its own DB? Or are three 3 FB's in turn buried inside a master FB

Generally people would have a dedicated DB for each

Best thing to do is create a VAT for each conveyor

I had that problem yesterday

I just started playing around with Multi instance FB's.

And I don't find the help file very helpful.

Quick question.

I have 3 conveyors, used multiple instance FB's.

Now when I right click and goto monitor is that cycling thru all 3 conveyors?

And if I goto monotiro with called path is that just displaying the 1 specific instance I am worried about?

Thanks,
I had two multi instance FB talking to motion controllers. The only difference was the Profibus Addr ( LADDR ). I found that I had to tempporarily disable the first FB by putting an open coil in front of the first FB if I wanted to see the second FB updates.

Hopefully someone else has a better idea but I run into this problem even when doing assembly or C programming. If I have 8 instances of axes and I want to debug the 6th instance then I usually put a check at the top of the code to immediately return if the current instance is the one I am interested in. Just remember to remove the debug code.

cjd, all 3 datablocks are contained in the master FB's stat area.

Peter, thats what I figured I would have to do. I just thought I was on to something when I found the "Monitor with called path" option. It seems to monitor the instance that I'm interested in but will have to play with it some more when I get back to my other office.

Thanks,