output and timer not likeing each other

jcole1

I have a Modicon B810 115v isolated triac output module tuning on an Omron H3YN-4ac100-120 timer.

When the processor turns on the output nothing happens, but when I pull timer out of the socket the light for the output comes on. When I put in an Omron MY4IN relay it works fine.

Also when I energized timer from another source (straight off control transformer) it works fine.

Any ideas why the timer wont work with this output module?

Triac off state leakage current is probably keeping the timer energized even when the output is in the off state.

But you say that the output light does not illuminate until the load is removed, so that leads me to think something is not wired correctly or the load of the timer is too great for the output (not likely).

I have no experience with either device so these are just guesses.

Paul

agree with okie. have you checked the voltage going to the timer when output is on (or supposed to be on). with and without load. you could also check amps with tongue tester. sounds like a short to me

I dont think it is the wiring or short circuit because the output works on a coil type relay. It also works with a different type of timer.

Thanks for the replies. Any more ideas?

I just have to ask. What is a "tongue tester"? When I read this all I can think of is touching the 120V and neutral to one's tongue!

That was exactly what i meant.lol. Here in africa we have to resort to strange methods sometimes. hehe.
Very bad typoo_O

I dont think it is the wiring or short circuit because the output works on a coil type relay. It also works with a different type of timer.

Thanks for the replies. Any more ideas?

I know its a stupid question. but are you using the correct pins on the timer. maybe you are going through a NC contact instead of to the coil. like i said if you could test the amps going to the coil when output is on you will see what is the cause.