Communication between Direct Logic 260cpu and Branson weld controller

NACarnes

I have a project in which I need to call up presets in an ultrasonic weld controller using a basic copressor, in a Direct Logic PLC, with a 260 cpu. I am linked through rs-232. This is the only way to communicate with the controller, and I have never done anything like this before, using ascii or any other type of pc communication. Any one ever done this here? Any help or pointers is greatly appreciated. I know what the controller expects, but do not know how to get the PLC to communicate this through the coprocessor.:confused:

Please give EXACT part number for the Branson unit. A link to a manual for the Branson unit would help speed things along.

Last edited:
Sorry, The weld controller is an AmTech SBC controller, Model ATP-2040, and was specially built for us, to be able to use serial communication to call up presets, so I don't know that this would help. The coprocessor is a F2-CP128, built by FACTS Engineering, for Direct logics. To further clarify, I know what the controller expects, and the strigs I need to send to it. What I don't know is, how to send them strings using the cpu, PLC and coprocessor. I have never had to do this before, and was wondering if any one has, or communicated any type of serial device with a Direct logic PLC, and how they went about doing this? I have the PLC connected to the Controller, and I have attempted to start reading the Facts Eng manuals, but that is about as far as I have gotten. I am in the midst of several projects, and they want them all done tomorrow, so any help would be benaficial! Thanks in advance!

I have attempted to start reading the Facts Eng manuals,