SLC500 Devicenet error 77????

sparkotronic

Hi,

I'm looking for a bit of help regarding a devicenet problem on one of the machines at my workplace.

Basically one of the inverter drives has stopped opperating.

On the SLC 5 plc rack there is a 1747-SDN devicenet scanner module, this is showing an error 77 at node 2

Node 2 is an Allenbradley 160-DN2 devicenet communication module connected to a AB160C drive.

If I swap the card with Node4(i.e. addressing Node4 to 2) the fault clears. But the new card will not work on Node 4, it now shows 04,77!?!?!

What are the chances of me recieving 2 broken 160-DN2 cards with the same fault?

I have no experience of devicenet, so any help would be most apreciated.

Best regards, Colin

Not following your logic. You have a broken DN comm module on Node 2. You take a working one from Node 4, readdress it to Node 2 and put it on the drive and now Node 2 works. That's to be expected. But what are you putting on Node 4? If you put the broken one on Node 4 (readdressed from 2 to 4) then of course you'll now get 4, 77. If you leave nothing on node 4, you'll also get an error on node 4. So what exactly are you doing?

From the manual for the 1747-SDN card the error 77 means
Data size expected by the device does not match scanlist
entry. The solution is
Reconfigure your module for the correct transmit and
receive data sizes. Was this an operating system that now has issue or has something been changed? You will need software like RSNetWorx to check and configure the DNet system. If you are trying to change a part with a spare part it may need to be configured and/or commissioned. Are the versions the same? Each module must be setup in the 1747-SDN with matching configureation in the module. May need new or updated EDS file for the device?