heartbeat between Siemens s7200 and s7300

jeramiah

Hi

I need to set up a comm loss heartbeat between a Siemens s7-200 226 plc (Slave) and a Siemens s7-300 314c-2dp PLC (Master).

They are communicating via wireless and i need to be able to have an alarm light come on at the s7-200 if the signal is lost.

I am still new to plc programming and would like some help on this.

Thanks

One easy way is to have a timer or counter in one PLC
The other PLC looks at the count (time) if it stops updating raise an alarm.
This requires at least one word in the communication, 2 if you want to alarm at both ends

Another way I have seen it done
A N/C contact in PLC 1 turns on a bit
PLC 1
!--|/|------( )
___Y_______X

PLC 2
|--| |------( )
|__X______ Y
PLC 2 looks at bit X and turns on coil Y which turns off coil X back in PLC 1
So these two bits flip/flop with each communication cycle
Thaen you add a couple of timers one for Off state, 1 for On state|
|--|/|------(Timer 1)
|___Y
|--| |------(Timer 2)
____Y

|--|DN|--|----(Alarm)
| Timer 1 |
|--|DN|--|
| Timer 2

(ignore the underscore____ I had to add it to stop the tags from moving)

If either Timer 1 or Timer 2 time out then sound the alarm
This requires only 1 bit in each direction. PLC 1 can also have the 2 timers using bit X
Sorry I haven't used Siemens for a while so my representation won't be the same but you should get the idea.
Regards
Roy

Last edited:
The Comm blocks on both sides provide status. It's all built in.

Issue with a comm block, the target PLC could be in program mode or CPU crash, yet registers would still be updated. This is why it is best to read the status of a bit under program control.

I usually have a toggle bit set up , where if the source PLC senses the bit is in one state or another for XXXX milliseconds, this indicates that the target PLC program has stopped.

I have used both method's what Roy described, both works very well with any plc.