SLC 5/05, RSLogix 500, and testing

sthays10

This is my first project using a SLC 5/05 processor, and I'm having some trouble setting up a simulator.

We have a single processor using 3 racks - two 13 slot racks, one seven slot racks, with mainly discrete inputs and outputs - being installed at our customer's site. In the office, I have the processor, a power supply, a couple of basic modules, and a 7-slot rack.

I am in the office, trying to set up a simulator for my HMI. I can connect and download to the processor, but I can't run the program because of an I/O mismatch. I know in Logix 5000 there is an option to disable the I/O cards, but I can't find the option in Logix 500.

How do I bypass the I/O Mismatch?

Thanks,
Steve

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was online with the PLC, cleared the fault, changed the status bits (the first line only) and put it back into run. It still didn't work.

I cleared the fault again, changed both lines of 1's to 0's, and it still gave me the fault.

Slots 0-3 are my processor, an ethernet card, and two basic modules. 4-30 are my IO.

I've attached a couple of screenshots.

error.JPG

I think the actual detected rack size has to match.

Unfortunately, you're going to have to remove or re-address quite a bit of your logic because the SLC program won't compile if you reference I/O that is in slots that don't exist.

I'd say just go ahead and do the heavy lifting of replacing the I/O addresses with fake N-file addresses, and set the actual rack type to fit the one that's in your office. That should allow you to compile, download, and go to run mode to test your HMI application.

with the slc 500, you are only allowed to connect up to a total
of 30 cards (1 cpu and 29 i.o cards) without using remote i/o, devicenet, or some other method.

you stated (2) 13 slot racks and (1) 7 slot rack.
that's a total of 33 slots. your processor may fault out on you for that reason.

regards,
james