Need help for Ladder Logic

riouxhugo

I am a beginner with PLC and desire to learn more. Could someone tell me why this logic doesn't work (Auto/Man button).
N51:50/1 is a maintained push button coming from a MMI.
B59:0/0 is AUTO mode.
B59:0/1 is MAN mode.
At first pass, AUTO is selected.

Thanks.

automanpb.gif

automanpb.gif

The second rung will never be true....The first rung is always unlatching (setting to 0) N51:50/1

Well, not always. Not when B59:0/0 is true. Perhaps this subroutine is not being scanned?

D'oh....That's what I get for answering before my 3rd cup of coffee

Make sure the OSR bits are unique and not used elsewhere.

And when you say 'maintained' from the HMI, are you doing a SET of the bit and when? Make sure that if it is a SET, that it is only a SET on push of the button and not while the button is being held down. If it is the latter, the HMI could be setting the bit back true even after your unlatches.

Last edited:
D'oh....That's what I get for answering before my 3rd cup of coffee

Make sure the OSR bits are unique and not used elsewhere.

And when you say 'maintained' from the HMI, are you doing a SET of the bit and when? Make sure that if it is a SET, that it is only a SET on push of the button and not while the button is being held down. If it is the latter, the HMI could be setting the bit back true even after your unlatches.
B59:0/0 and B59:0/1 are both unique. Could you suggest me a way to test the logic by step.
Thanks.

Robert, it is called a maintained Push Button (FT View ME 5). State settings, Next state based on: Current State. 2 States value are 0 and 1 and Connections Value is N51:50/1.

Thanks.

Robertmee meant are the OSR bits, B60:9/0 and B60:9/1, unique.

If both B59:0/0 and B59:0/1 were true at the same time this would never initialize and never switch. Place the S:1/15 initialization on its own rung with it as the only condition to make sure.

If S:1/15 then latch B59:0/0, unlatch B59:0/1, unlatch N51:50/1