REAL newbie need help with A/B 5/03 and software

Hello everyone. I have little to no experience working with PLC's. I have only done a little work on OLD A/B SLC 150's using PCIS. (yes, they still are in use!) Anyway, I've tried to find the answer in previous posts but to no avail....so here goes...and please remember that use simple language for me as this is not my field but I'm finding the need to learn it. Thanks in advance...and here goes.

I'm using and older Dell Latitude laptop computer with the Window 98 SE O/S running on it. This "inherited" laptop has RSLogix 500 English (version 6.00.00) on it, but had no version of RSLinx on it. I have installed RSLinx Lite (version 1.70.62.00) I downloaded from A/B (Rockwell Automation). Now the problem. In the "About RSLinx Lite" under the help menu it says "The family of industrial network communications software for Window NT/95 and A/B Programmable Controllers." Question: is this a software issue the reason I am unable to "talk" to my 5/03 PLC?

What I've done so far - I launch RSLinx Lite, I navigate to the Communications tab, I go to "Configure Drivers", I select 1747-PIC Device, I select the "Add New" tab, under "Configured Drivers:" it says AB_PIC-1 DH485 Sta: 0 COM 1: RUNNING, and below this in the same window it also has VLINK-1 (link ID15), (it won't let me delete this one by the way), then I select "Close".
-Next I launch RSLogix 500
-Next I plug in my 1747-PIC box into my COM 1 port and the ethernet style cable into the PLC 5/03.
-Next.....there is no next! ? I don't know how to talk to the PLC? I've tried the "Go Online" tab in the RSLogix software and it does nothing.

I would be much appreciative if someone could lead me by the hand and step by step give me an idea on what it could be, or, what could be going wrong. Thanks guys.