PLC to PLC Communications

rogermoore

I am studying instrumentation at college, and am in the first year of my HNC. I have a PLC assignment from college and have found myself pretty stuck with one of the questions. After a quick google I found this page and from the post I've been reading its full of useful knowledge and hopefuly someone who will be able to help me with my question.

The question is:

'Consider two types of communications links with PLCs. PLC to PLC and PLC to LAN. Draw a scretch with relevant modules from manufacturers how they would be implimented on network systems.'

I am unsure if my problem with the question is just the basic comprehension of it but I am hoping that someone on this forum will be able to help me out or point me in the right idea.

Any reaplies will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Thanks very much for the quick reply. But the means very little to me. I am a total novice to PLCs. It would be hugely appreciated if you could maybe explain it simply in lamer terms please? It would be a real help

Also does the above apply generically to most PLCs?

The main idea is that PLCs should communicate together on industrial level and they should communicate on a plant level ( to make charts graphs etc ).
How many communication ports PLC has, so many communications can be established.
So communication on level PLC - PLC is usally used for machines consisting of more parts, where one part is waiting when the second part will be ready to reiceve a product for further processes.Communication protocols (the language of communication) depends on producer of the PLC. Siemens (MPI,Profibus),AB(sercos,devicenet) ... or free Modbus, Canopen.

The other level is to transfer data upper ( number of produced parts, errors etc ... ) Its PLC - PC communication (because PC can make a graph, export to excel or save it on the CD )