PLC delayed output?

kevilay

I ran into a weird issue with this thing im building. I have input pulses that flash every 1/4 of a second. I want the output to copy that exactly except to do it 1/2 second later. So an example timeline of 3 high input pulses would be

Lets say I is I:0/0 and O is 0:0/0

1/4s 1/2s 3/4s 1s 1(1/4) 1(1/2)
I=1 I=1 I=1 I=0 I=0 I=0
O=0 O=0 O=1 O=1 O=1 O=0

Is this possible to do? I was trying to think of a way to do this and couldnt come up with anything. Im just starting out on PLCs and im working on a final project for school.

I have input pulses that flash every 1/4 of a second. I want the output to copy that exactly except to do it 1/2 second later. So an example timeline of 3 high input pulses would be

Lets say I is I:0/0 and O is 0:0/0

1/4s 1/2s 3/4s 1s 1(1/4) 1(1/2)
I=1 I=1 I=1 I=0 I=0 I=0
O=0 O=0 O=1 O=1 O=1 O=0

Is this possible to do?

Yes, read up on (Bit) shift registers. The clock pulse will have to be fast enough for the resolution you desire. And you will need enough bits to = 1/2 second at the resolution you need.

How do I shift the bits tho because its not a constant pulse. It can go 3 pulses in 1 and 1/2 sec then one more pulse 2 seconds later. Im familar with bit shift but not certain how you would shift the bits in the case

Kevin

Not trying to be a smart a** but, even for a (relatively) simple task as this, a flowchart or some pseudocode would help to visualize what needs to be done, ie.:

When the input changes, store the new value to use during further processing.

How do I shift the bits tho because its not a constant pulse. It can go 3 pulses in 1 and 1/2 sec then one more pulse 2 seconds later. Im familar with bit shift but not certain how you would shift the bits in the case

Kevin

Many PLCs have a free-running counter so you could select one of its bits to trigger a shift register instruction.