Communication between AB Panel View Plus 1500 and 1756 controllogix controller

wonderful_plc

Hi all,

I am very new to the PLC setting. May I know is anyone have the experience to establish the communication between the Panel View Plus 1500 and the 1756 controllogix controller?

I would like to read all the modbus address from PLC in HMI. Thank you.

No problem. Just follow the easy steps below:
1. Build a new project with the FactoryTalk View Studio ME or RSView Studio ME (I'm using the FactoryTalk View Studio ME).
2. Open the Communication Setup and goto the Runtime (Target) tab.
3. Right click on the Ethernet connection and choose Add Device and under the EthernetIP Devices folder choose the Ethernet module used with the ControlLogix.
4. Key in the IP address for the Ethernet module and the slot number it sit on the rack.
5. Right click on the virtual rack create under the Ethernet module and add the targeted ControlLogix.
6. Create a Device Short that point to the ControlLogix. Click OK to close the Communication Setup.
7. When you want to link to the tags inside the ControlLogix use this syntax: [Device Shortcut]Tag_Name_In_ControlLogix; i.e.: [PLC]Data01

One more tip, during development stage we usually connect the FactoryTalk View ME direct to the ControlLogix direct so we can do the changes on the fly. To do that repeat the above steps under the Design (Local) tab.

51262-01.gif 51262-02.gif 51262-03.gif 51262-04.gif 51262-05.gif

Last edited:
similar problem

Hi, I came across this post while looking for some information for my situation. I had the same issue being not familiar with these Allen Bradley products. I set everything up as mentioned above, all the devices are showing in RSLinx Enterprise. However, my objects on my HMI screen are sensing no value even when I toggle the addresses in RSLogix 5000 while it's running. Do you have any suggestions of what I should take a look at?

Thanks,

Cindy