Safety Relay- Basic Question

Sundae8pm

This is my first time I have encountered a safety relay, and before I get flamed - it is not being used in a safety environment (bear with me...).

Due to an issue with test pulses, a relay is going to be put into a circuit to prevent test pulses from being detected as a true signal. A safety relay has been specified for me, on the basis that the dual contacts will reduce the risk of contact weld.

I have had a quick bench test of a Phoenix safety relay and I may have killed it. It appears that you cannot use external 24V as an input (there is a single input in the circuit, but a dual input is needed at the relay)?

The literature I have reviewed all show volt-free contacts at the stop functions and I can find nowhere that shows an external 24V input into a safety input. Has the role and design of the safety relay been misunderstood, or was my wiring incorrect (I managed to get a squeal and a spark from the relay) or was it a duff relay??

Essentially what I want to do is use a single PLC output (normally 24V, fail 0V) into a 'safety input'. Possible? (apologies for ramble...)

I used PSR-ESA4, but my question is not specific to this type (as my client has ordered the relays independently (edit) PNOZ S4...).

Yes you can. But you will have to select the right type of relay. Some relays are activated by power free contacts, and those relays can not be used in your application. Try to look at the MAS117T from AB. The output of the PLC powers this relay.

Thanks, is there a phrase or terminology to allow me to understand whether the relay specified accepts a 24V safety input (I fear the money has been spent on a wrong relay...)

Sorry, I gave you the wrong relay model (typing mistake).
MSR117T from AB or PNOZ X1 from Pilz.

Look for safety relays that can be used with light curtains and connect it configured for light curtains