New to PLC

acadd

I am new to plc and would like some help on which way I should go. I am looking to be able to control (2) 10 volt dc signals, one controls speed on a machine and the other controls power to a laser. I will need to be able for the both of them to go from 0 to 10V at the same time but and different settings. Example would be if I need speed to go to 5v and then power to go to 3v and to be adjustable at any time. I hope this makes sense but again I am new to this.

You didn't specify what kind of time base or response time (assuming some kind of input to trigger output changes) you would need for analog control, but normally a PLC with analog outputs could do what you are asking.

You are simply defining the need for two separate analog outputs with 0-10VDC capability. I am sure that is just a portion of your requirements. You need to sit down and list all the requirements of your system. First your Inputs and Outputs (I/O) to the system and then the functional requirements of the system. Then you can start looking for a system that matches your needs. Come back with that info and I am sure you will have many opinions on which way to go.

Thanks for the reply

You didn't specify what kind of time base or response time (assuming some kind of input to trigger output changes) you would need for analog control, but normally a PLC with analog outputs could do what you are asking.

What I am looking for is a way that will ramp up the speed and power in about 5 seconds and also ramp it down in the same time frame, right now I am using pots to control the different voltage that goes to each device by using a selector switch and I have it hook to 5 different pots that are set to different setting. I would like to replace this with a simple plc.