New member....New Student

MiPilot

Hi Guys,

My name is Steve and I am the owner of a commercial/industrial electrical contracting company. I am looking to expand my personal knowledge in the world of plc's.

I have multiple opportunities available to me at this time and don't want to pass these up. But, I do not want to rush through this.

I am looking into on-line courses because of the flexible schedule as mine is very busy during working hours. I don't mind spending the money for top notch materials and desire only to pursue this path if I can be very proficient.

Can someone learn completely from these on-line/video courses or could I use these for a starter and sign up for some classroom training later?

I have been playing with the Logixpro demo and student exercises and have completed the Door Sim through #3.

I welcome any comments on the following:

Untitled.jpg

Thanks in advance,

Steve
aka MiPilot

Hi.. I'm a newbie as well..
However, after going through the forums, I've learned at least 2 things..

1) Always comment your rungs so that people will know what function each individual rung does. You can do this by right clicking on the rung and select "Edit Rung Comment".

2) Label your symbol with easy-to-understand names. I notice that for I:1/0 and O:2/0, you label both of them as "Open". It might be abit confusing sometimes as well as it might not give sufficient information to the one reading your code. Instead, you might label I:1/0 as "Open Button" and O:2/0 as "Door Opening" etc..

MiPilot,
Welcome,
For "Complete Learning" and or to be "Proficient" at programming PLCs requires quite a bit of practice or experience. After all any skill that can be had comes from repeating the task over & over many times until a certian level of skill or confidence is felt. Does not matter if it is basketball, fishing or driving a truck.