Greetings

JordanR

Hello All

Just joined forum and am looking forward to learning new things. My background is in HVAC and I am trying to get my company into the current century as far as controls are concerned.

I have been trying for days to make a simple Alternating motor
control, these are floor mounted medium temp hot water dist. pumps

Here is what I want to do. one single discrete input (NO) that will alternate motors upon each change of the "ON" state.

1st sequence - when the input is on then motor #1 comes on, when input is off then motor #1 turns off.

2nd sequence - when the same input is on then motor #2 turns on, when input is off then motor #2 turns off

I want it interlocked so both can't come on when the input is true.

I also want a true proof input applied. this is a discrete NO input that is a pressure switch that will confirm that the pump is actually pumping water via a pressure change, I would like this input to be able to switch motors in the event that the proof input is not in the "ON" state. this is protecting against a sheared coupler from motor to pump, our older methods with Siemens only use a current sensor on the motor which tells me the motor is running but in the case of a sheared coupler no water is being circulated and the building suffers freeze ups. I would also like a 15 min OFF DELAY as well, this will keep the boilers from tripping out on high limit if the pump immediately shuts off when input is off, this is not a good thing.

Please forgive my rambling and lack of terminology, I am newer to plc implementations and want to learn more on the HVAC side of things. I am not neccessarily asking for the program all nice and pre packaged and written for me, I would like to see some existing examples for other controllers ( so I can figure it out ) and any tips as well. I want to learn it, not have someone do it for me.