12v Relay on 24V output

kevilay

Hey guys I have a bunch of 12v relays I want to use for a project. To hook one up to my 24v outputs on my micrologix plc what is the best method. Im pretty new to all this stuff Im a student, I know about the programming :p. Can I just hook up two resistors of the same value and tap the relay to the center. Or is there a better way to do this cause I would need higher wattage resistors to do that wouldn't I?

Kevin

In series would work with lightbulbs for sure. We used to test 480-volt DC drives with four 120-volt 100watt lightbulbs in series. Don't know why you couldn't put two 12vdc relays in series and put 24volts across them. Since you have a bunch of them... :)

Just determine the resistance on the 12volt coils and put them in series with a similarly-sized resistor. Doesn't have to be exact. Most 12 volt relays will work fine anywhere from about 10.5 to 16 volts.

Hey guys I have a bunch of 12v relays I want to use for a project. To hook one up to my 24v outputs on my micrologix plc what is the best method. Im pretty new to all this stuff Im a student, I know about the programming :p. Can I just hook up two resistors of the same value and tap the relay to the center. Or is there a better way to do this cause I would need higher wattage resistors to do that wouldn't I?

Kevin

Well, I am sure there will be other suggestions, but I would measure the current the Relay Coil draws at 12 VDC. You might be able to get it off the Relay itself, or the Manufacturers Data Sheet.
The put a resistor in series between the 24VDC Output, and the Relay Coil. R=E/I so say the current is 0.1A and we want to drop 12V across the Resistor, then R=12/0.1=120 Ohms. The Power Rating for the Resistor is P=ExI P=12x0.1=1.2W. So, I would use a 2W Resistor.

The other option if you have lots of Relays, and this is just for experimentation and testing. Put two of the Relays in series.

I look forward to the clever methods others come up with.

Stu.....