Help selecting a plc

fireball1331

I am very new to PLC's and i need help selecting one. I've done a lot of microcontroller projects using mostly C and assembly programming. Obviously it's more advanced to some extent and i hate to sound stupid but PLC's seem complicated to me. Especially selecting and purchasing them.

I need one that is most intuitive to program and wire - 12-24v supply.

Here's the specs i require:
at least
-5 digital inputs
-1 high speed pulsing output for stepper motor drive
-4 regular outputs
-some super basic HMI (optional - i can resort to switches and lights on the imputs.)

Obviously the more the merrier, but those are my minimum requirements and my budget is $200.

My application is... stepper motor pulls 1 metal strap off a coil, PLC counts steps for 1 of 3 user selectable lengths stops stepper motor send signal to cut.
I need it to cut lots of 100 when tray is full then wait for user to change tray and start again for the next 100.

Please help me select a PLC that is available to purchase online or pick up from brisbane in Australia, or online from overseas somewhere that ships to Australia.

please post links and suggest ideas.
Thank you.

How fast does your high speed pulsing output have to be (ms)?

Is that $200 just for the PLC or the entire project?

I'd be surprised if you can find a new PLC that will drive your motor for $200.

I would use an Allen Bradley MicroLogix1200 with the PTO (Pulse Train Output).

It is like a PLC with a built-in stepper controller. But...you still need a driver card for your stepper.

If your on a tight budget, it is possible to build your own driver (not easy).

Assuming you already have the programming software (RSLogix500), I would estimate the integration cost at.....drum roll please.......+$1000US (PLC, driver, and motor only. Does not include mechanical components)

I don't want to crush your inventive spirit, but attempting this for $200 seems quite unreasonable.