SLC 5/04 and Powerflex Drives

Hey Guys,

I am still new to this, but I am trying to get a grip on this one. I could use some input to figure this one out.

I have a SLC 5/04 Processor, and I am going to be adding, 14 Power-flex 4 Drives to the system. What would be the best way to integrate this into my program? Would device net work or control net? Again, I'm new to the Power-flex end of the program.

I tried to figure it out, but it got me all confused. Any advice and input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Devicenet (1747-SDN card) if you need access to the drive's parameters beyond just start/stop, speed reference, and a return fault signal that the h/w i/o provides.

The 20-COMM-R can provide a Remote I/O connection (1747-SN card) but I haven't used it and am not sure to what level of signals it provides; certainly more than h/w but probably less than DeviceNEt.

(PS: make sure when choosing a powerflex family that you check out the communication options; some have fewer than others)

Last edited:
I would shy away from ControlNet. It is more powerful and faster than Devicenet, but less common.

If you use devicenet, you'll need RSNetworx for Devicenet software. If you use the devicenet interface, be sure you follow all the proper power supply and network cabling recommendations.

You can't use RIO, which is unfortunate since it is so easy and cheap to set up, but they don't offer a RIO interface for the PF4.

The other obvious choice would be to simply hardwire them.

Before you decide, you need to know what kind of control you need. Mainly, are you going to be varying the speed and direction, if so how frequently?

EDIT: It looks like the PF4 would require a connection to a PF40 or a 22-XCOMM-DC-BASE, since it does not directly support a built in comms network. You can connect four PF4's per PF40 or 22-XCOMM...