PLC Simulator

luis

Hi:

I'm a Computer Science student, and I'm trying to develop a PLC Simulator based on the explications in the www.plcs.net tutor's page, but I feel the need for a little more of orientation about PLC, since I don't know much about it.

Anyone can help me?

T.I.A.

Luis

Soooo...

What exactly do you want to know?

What is that you read in the Tutor (you did read it, didn't you?) that you don't understand?

If you have read it and there's something you don't understand, explain what you do understand and point out where you are losing it.

Thanks

Thanks for your reply

There are various things I don't get so clear:

1.- The PLC have timers internally (software timers), I believe that they have a limited number off them (same for the counters).
2.- In the tutorial they use Cxxx to name a counter or Txxx to a timer, this names refer to the IO/register the activated/deactived?
If this is true, then I can use the rrbb to refer to them also? (rrbb is rr=register bb=bit).

T.I.A.

Luis

Re: Thanks

luis said:
Thanks for your reply

There are various things I don't get so clear:

1.- The PLC have timers internally (software timers), I believe that they have a limited number off them (same for the counters).
Some have a limited nuimber, some don't. Often a timer isn't really a timer, but a type of counter. The PLC will have only one clock whose value changes constantly and independant of scan. When a timer isntruction is encountered, the value (or a peice of it) is compared to the last stored value, the accumulated value updated, the new clock time stored (plus the "extra" that didn't go into the accum), and the bits updated. In other PLCS, there may actually be seperate clocks running, which would be why you run out.

2.- In the tutorial they use Cxxx to name a counter or Txxx to a timer, this names refer to the IO/register the activated/deactived?