PD Meter vs Coriolis Meter

We are trying to accurately measure oil coming into our refinery. Currently, we use a coriolis meter and a capacitance probe to measure volume and 5S&W coming into our receiving tanks. However, we are having issues with errors that are introduced due to variance in oil density and %S&W.

We are looking at a system that finds the density of the oil and the density of the brine. The system will automagically perform a NOC calc based on the live density vs these known densitys, and calculate %S&W if the capacitance probe is outside its working range.

We need to decide the type of meter we want to used. Should we use a gear driven PD meter or a coriolis meter. My understanding is a PD meter is more repeatable, but the coriolis meters are more accurate. Any thoughts?

My understanding is a PD meter is more repeatable, but the coriolis meters are more accurate. Any thoughts?

That is intersting. I am by no means an expert, but I believe that if the instrument is not repeatable, it cannot be accurate. At least my understanding is that the repeatability should be much higher than the accuracy. Look at any position or distance measurement system (take a micrometer for instance) if the accuracy is +/- .001mm, then the repeatability will be somewhere around+/- .0001mm. Maybe I misunderstood the statement. It is a good question, hopefully you get some better responses.

A coreolis meter will be more accurate for measuring mass flow.
The PD meter may be more accurate for volume flow.
The coreolis can also be set for volume flow (Mass / density).
In my experience PD meters are more of a maintenance problem.
Check out the new Foxboro coreolis meter, the rep was by our office the other day and claims it will measure two phase flow e.g. Air in Water.
Roy

Last edited: