GE Proficy Process Software

Mark Buskell

Version 6.0, QuickPanel HMI 14", GE Processor, ethernet

I am an A-B guy so I am not very experienced yet on GE.
The vendor refuses to turn over the password to open the HMI screens. I have read that I may be out of luck. Does anyone know if GE Fanuc has a way to supply the password if I go through all of the proper procedures.

Also I was given 2 files. One has the PLC ladder code. The other one is supposed to have the HMI screens. On further reading, it seems to me that both the HMI and the ladder code should be under the same project name. Can someone clarify this for me.

I think you're out of luck on the password.

The PLC and the HMI can be part of the same Proficy project although they don't have to be. There's nothing that prevents someone from making them separate entities.

If your company permits, you can send the files to me and I can try to open them up to make some sense out of them for you. Send me a PM and I'll send you my email address.

The HMI default is:
master
control

Any programmer of GE View panels that is worth a hoot will have changed it. If they didn't then... shame on them.

More than likely the HMI and the PLC is the same project. The programmer would have to jump through hoops to make them separate. The reason why is you cannot run more than one instance of the programming software at a time. So to make them separate you'd have to close your plc to edit your hmi and vice-versa.

However it is do-able. I had a plant with 17 plc's and 17 hmi's. After much experimentation I chose to use a virtual machine to run Proficy for the HMI programming and I did the PLC programming native. All the HMI's were in one project, all the PLC's in another.

I always see Steve and Russ on GE threads, call me Mr. Tagalong, LOL