Connection to SLC / HMI

shoelesscraig

All right, I know you experts have an answer for this. Piece of cake...

For our company laptop, we have a 1784-PCMK/B card that slides into the card slot. The card says that it is for DH-485, DH+, and RIO connections. We have 2 cables to go with it. The first is a 1784-PCM4/B which has the needed connector to plug into the card on one end and a RJ45 jack on the other. I use this cord all the time to plug into SLC 5/03s and PVs that are DH-485. I use the PCMK driver in Linx, configure for DH-485, and away I go, no problem. The other cable is a 1784-PCM5/B which has a male RS-232 plug on the other end. I've never used this before.

What I'm trying to figure out is this...We ordered a PanelView Standard 2711-T6C5L1 at work. This is the PV 600 that has the RS-232 (DH-485) port on it. I'm trying to figure out how I can connect to this and load my program. Obviously, there is no RJ45 on this PV (or at least I'm pretty sure there isn't), so using the first cable that I have won't work. I assume that the RS-232 port on the PV is a male connection, so the second cable I have will not work either since both are males. This is the reason I can't use it to connect directly to the RS-232 port on a SLC as well, both are males. I'm not even sure if I had an adapter to convert it if it would work. I was told that if I use a regular old serial cable to connect to the 232 port on a SLC, that I need to run the PIC driver, run Linx as a program (not a service) and it would work. But, our company laptop does not have a serial port on it. I'm at a loss.