Unused Profibus node in a network

kiran

Hi Everybody,

I am fairly new to profibus(siemens plc's).
In a cell I am working on, depending on the type of part being run some time a profibus node is not being used ie the field device connecting the sensors will not be there. Profibus cable to this device will be have to remain open. Could any bodu give me some info on how to go about this. What are my options. Has anybody used trunk and drop cable connecting the nodes in profibus network like devicenet.

Thanks,

Hi Everybody,

In a cell I am working on, depending on the type of part being run some time a profibus node is not being used ie the field device connecting the sensors will not be there. Profibus cable to this device will be have to remain open. Could any bodu give me some info on how to go about this. What are my options. Has anybody used trunk and drop cable connecting the nodes in profibus network like devicenet.

Thanks,

I think one of my colleages once had a profibus problem because a couple of ET200 modules were not powered, the whole network went down. May it is better not to connect the profibus connector to an unpowered profibus station.

It is only a problem if is the last station in the daisy-chain. That will probably cut the network if it is running at 1.5M, and for sure if it is running at 12M. At 187.5k you can get away with it.

If the last station can be shutdown, consider to end the daisy-chain in an active terminator, rather than a slave station.

Hi Everybody,

Thanks,

I like using a Siemens Repeater for this and then I put in SFC12. This system function is for activating and deactivating slaves.

In a cell I am working on, depending on the type of part being run some time a profibus node is not being used ie the field device connecting the sensors will not be there.
Where is this device located in your network? At the start or end, or somewhere in between? Is it on a trunk line or in the daisy chain?