Conveyor Belts & Timers

ruby.n

How do I know if the conveyor belt is moving or not? How do I use timers to detect this? And if the conveyor has stopped, I need to send an alarm to the SCADA system!

Im working on an SLC500, but guess the logics the same?

I have never coded before! I only understand pretty basic logic...

I usually put a prox switch monitoring a moving part of the conveyor that has a periodic change (like a shaft with a gear that can be turned into pulses). I then set up 2 timers that are:

#1 enabled when the motor is running and the prox sw is ON, and

#2 enabled when the motor is running and the prox sw is off.

Set the presets so that during a normal pulse of the prox while the motor is running, the timers will not timeout. If something happens mechanically, like a jam, one of the timers will timeout and I use the done bits to flag a fault. Hope that helps.

(note: if the conveyor starts & stops often, I'll use retentive timers (RTO))

Last edited:
Thanks jstolaruk!

But how will I know if the motor is running? Do I need to check the phase current? I think there is an Intelligent overload device...

I ususally use 1 off delay timer and a 1 shot. Keeping the input on when not running, when running, create a 1 shot on the proxy rising and/or falling edge.

Sounds like you need to start here

Then we can talk about the rest...

As far as how you detect if a conveyor is running, the aux contact on the starter will tell you if the starter is engaged. You don't need anything as fancy as current monitoring, though you could certainly do that.

However, monitoring the aux contact will only tell you whether or not the starter is engaged. It won't tell you if something between the motor and the conveyor drive has broken. That's why it has been suggested to use a prox to monitor a moving part on a driven shaft of the conveyor.

Which class are you in?