step 7 SDB

udtwmc

Hi,

S7: CPU400 and 300's in project (I am a novice)

I've made no changes to the project. SDB matches online. everything is hunky dory....However in network pro there is an orange colour on one of the CPU's, so I have saved and compiled (creating new SDB of course) now the SDB's don't compare online and it brings up only these messages for modules on the profibus : "the user data of the slave with profibus address xx are different"

I haven't downloaded (beacause I daren't!!) what is this message telling me axactly and what would happen if i downloaded now ? are these critical differences?

Cheers

The orange color can come from just "touching" either the HW Config or the parts of the project from which the CPU in question has connections to. But since the SDB has changed in size, something real must be different.

I would create a new empty project, do a complete upload from the PLC to the empty project, and then compare the HW config of the uploaded and the offline projects.
Especially the mentioned profibus slave seem to have a difference. So check that one carefully. The difference can be a different module type, or a parameter in one or more of the modules.
I am guessing that the offline project has an error, maybe insignificant, maybe significant.

edit: If the offline project has an error, then someone has forgotton to backup the last active project that was downloaded to the CPU. tsk tsk.

Thanks for reply Jesper.

Interesting...I uploaded to empty project (as suggested) and did a SDB compare straight away (no differences unsurprisingly) However when I looked in net pro (same orange colour on the cpu) I again did a save/compile and then compared SDB again. I still have the same messages : "the user data of profibus etc etc..."

why is net pro altering SDB size when I am not changing anything at all?