access udt to move to an array of udt in a db

bvrm

Hi,

I'm quite new to pointers and i have a question.

I have made an udt1 of one integer and one timeofday (total of 6 bytes).
I have also a DB with a array[0..15] of udt1.
Now i want to write a function / functionblock that copies the udt to the DB.

Following inputs to the function:

i_udtUDT as UDT1
i_SizeinbytesofUDT1
i_Index as integer; (0-15)

I wanted to use the SFC20 'BLKMOV'. The target pointer is no problem.

But building the source pointer (any) pointing to the udt doesn't work for me.
Is it true you can't make a any pointer to the start adres of an udt?

I don't want something in the function, about the structure of the udt itself.
So not:

L i_index
L i_SizeinbytesofUDT1
*I
ITD
SLW3
LAR1

L udtUDT.iInteger
T DB20[AR1,P#0.0]

L udtUDT.iTime
T DB20[AR1,P#2.0]

I would like it completely independent from the structure of the udt. And copy it to the DB.
So if i change the structure of the udt (for example adding a integer) i only need to change the input parameter size when calling this function.

Is this possible? And if yes, how?

I'll be very grateful.

Regards,
Bvrm

Hi,

I understand your solution, but i can't get it to work.
Because when running, the plc goes in stop mode.

The problem is at the following line:

> OPN DB [#iSrcDB]
L B [AR2,P#0.0]

probably the iScrDB isn't correct.

So nevertheless the proceeding code executes well, the value that is transferred into iScrDB must be wrong:

L P##UDTToWrite //data to copy into array
LAR2
L W [AR2,P#0.0] //db number of data to write into array
T #iSrcDB

Or the problem can be the following:

OPN DB [#iSrcDB]

doesn't work for an UDT (is it possible to call an UDT a DB when opening?)

I hope you can help.

regards,
bvrm

what do you mean with MW202? i never used this. :confused:

I'm sure the target pointer is correct, i put the following 2 lines in comment and replaced them by L 0. It wrote 0 to all records of the correct udt in the array.