Using Subroutines in RS Logix 500

studentplc1

Hey guys,

I have a PLC program in RSlogix500 for one of the machines in my plant area. I was looking through the program for it and saw that many of the subroutines (ex. LAD 3, LAD 4 etc.) do not have the "SBR" (Subroutine indicator in the beginning) and "RET" (Return indicator at the end). I was wondering are these not necessary? Of course the machine runs fine so it seems like it isn't really needed.

(I am just a student and from what I learned, the SBR and RET commands should be used with the JSR command in the "main" routine).

Any comments? Thanks...

Subroutines are often used to break a large program into sections. In this case, there would be a JSR instruction for each subroutine in the main program, with no logic preceding it so that it runs every scan. The SBR and RET instructions are not necessary in this case.

For more advanced applications, subroutines can be called conditionally, but this requires caution as certain instructions may not behave as you expect. A good example of this is the OTE coil, which will hold its most recent state if the containing subroutine is not being executed. SBR and RET are still not required, but RET can be used to conditionally exit a subroutine early.

as you said, these instructions are not really necessary in order for the Subroutine to work correctly ...

in some (pretty rare) cases, the RET comes in handy because you can put it on a "conditional" rung – and then have the ladder execution "skip" the remainder of the Subroutine file if the condition is TRUE ...

in RSLogix500 the SBR serves no useful function – but my guess is that it's included in the instruction set because some programmers are so used to putting one at the top of every Subroutine file "just because" ... (in other words, it's just a "feel good" thing) ...

going further ...