PLC programming Exam Question

osk5000

I'm taking a course in mechatronics and Im very new to PLC programming. The problem statement is this

A conveyor belt moves Large and Small boxes down an assembly line. At the end of the assembly line their is a swinging arm that is operated by a motor. The swinging arm moves Large boxes down one conveyor belt and Small boxes down another conveyor belt. Their is a optical sensor that detemines if the box is large or small. Their are also two other sensors that determines if the boxes have cleared down the each assembly line (small conveyor line large conveyor line. Develop The ladder logic for the problem. Your ladder logic must consist of a Power button with indicator light, and emergency stop button with indicator light, and all 3 sensors and motor.

If anybody could help me start this it would be greatly appreciated

First you should write it down the way it functions. You can even do pseudo code straight.

Example of pseudo:

If part at conveyor end and part is big then...

Then when you have that done, its really lot easier to transfer it to ladder program.

Then again, you need to show your work first. It is not custom in this forum to do homework for students. Help you get when you show effort yourself.

Also what brand of plc and model?

I'm taking a course in mechatronics and Im very new to PLC programming. The problem statement is this