Controlnet Topology

derama2

Hi, I have a control logix system with a pair of redundant CPUs, that are to communicate with remote I/O using Controlnet. I have attached a simple layout of the described system. However, in the documents I've seen for Controlnet and reducnacy systems say that at least 2 nodes in addition to the CNBs or the redundant pair is needed. Is this topology not correct? The system as it is hooked up now, is not communicating with the Controlnet modules and I/Os and I wanted to see if this was the reason. I'm not very experienced with Allen Bradley/Rockwell products. Can someone point me in the right direction?

That's a nice layout drawing !

You are correct: ControlLogix Redundancy requires at least two ControlNet nodes on the ControlNet network segment besides the two 1756-CNB or 1756-CN2 Series B modules that are in the redundant chassis, and those devices must have lower node numbers than the 1756 ControlNet bridges in the redundant chassis.

This requirement is related to the Moderator function of ControlNet and the way that the redundant ControlNet bridges switch node numbers during a Primary/Secondary switchover.

The absence of a second low-numbered ControlNet node will only prevent an uninterrupted redundancy switchover; if you were to force a switchover on the system you show, the I/O connections would go to their configured failure state for a few seconds then reconnect.

A system built as you describe should be able to successfully connect and run the remote I/O modules.

Troubleshoot this like any other ControlNet connection issue; look at the LEDs on the ControlNet modules in the redundant and the remote chassis, note the scrolling status messages on the 1756 ControlNet modules, and look at the status messages showing for the ControlNet modules in the I/O tree of RSLogix 5000.