Career Advice Plz

Jayden

Hi all, I am in need of some advice relating to studying PLC's and Scada (Citect)etc. I'm currently an Electrical contractor doing some industrial, commercial and domestic work. I have had the opportunity to learn the basics of Allen bradley PLC's and software in the past and am constantly trying to learn as much as I can in my spare time. I have come to a decision that i would like to do some study so as i can make a career change into this field if possible. I have been looking over courses and there does not seem to be much related to these fields. I would love to hear from a few of you guys how you got started in you fields and if anyone made the transition from Electrician to PLC programmer/systems intergrater. Also any suggestions for any UNI/Tafe courses you may recommend.

Electrician definitely can become good PLC Scada SI. Working with Citect is very easy with lot of samples and help . As you already have knowledge about AB PLC you can switchover to this field. I dont know about your place ,but here in India PLC SCADA field is too crowded.

Thanks for the replay. From my experience there is a shortage of PLC/SCADA experts outside of the capital cities in Australia. Unfortunately living in these areas myself there is also shortage of opportunity to learn these skills. Are most PLC/SCADA workers self taught?? I was of thinking enrolling in an bachelor of computing (Information systems) and building on that with some industry courses and going from there.

For learning PLC and SCADA programming 1 month training is enough, if you want certification then only bachelor of computing (Information systems) will be required. You can very well take on small to medium(200 IOs ) projects with this training.
Well,
regards.

if you want certification then only bachelor of computing (Information systems) will be required. You can very well take on small to medium(200 IOs ) projects with this training.
Well,
regards.[/quote